17.10.2021 12:00

The Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre, Estonian Institute and Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs celebrate the 30th anniversary of concluding diplomatic relations between the Republic of Estonia and the Republic of Korea with a concert.

On 17 October at 12 pm (noon) the Great Hall of the Estonian Music and Theatre Academy (Tatari 13, Tallinn) will be filled with music from Estonian and Korean composers. The concert featuring the students of the Academy pays tribute to the friendly relations of our two countries and celebrates the strengthening of our cultural cooperation.

The concert is free of charge, please visit Fienta to get your free ticket:  https://fienta.com/ristuvad-kultuurid-eesti-ja-korea-vabariik. The programme of the concert can be found below.

The Republic of Korea recognized the independence of the Republic of Estonia on 6 September 1991 and the two countries concluded diplomatic relations on 17 October of the same year. In January 2020 the Government of Estonia decided to open the Embassy of Estonia in Seoul.

The concert is in hybrid format and can also be attended virtually on the Youtube channel of the Estonian Music and Theatre Academy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPeeKn-qzWU.


Veljo Tormis (1930–2017). Prelüüd ja fuuga nr. 3 D-duur / Prelude and Fugue No. 3 D major

Tõnu Kõrvits (1969*). Kolm pala / Three pieces: „Harmooniad“ / „Harmonies“; „Mehaanika“ / „Mechanics“; „Armastuslaul“ / „Lovesong

Hyewon Chung (klaver / piano)

Mihkel Lüdig (1880–1958): „Lapsepõlves“ / „In the Childhood“ (tekst / text: Ado Reinvald)

Hyo Gun Kym 첫사랑 (1960*): „Esimene armastus“ / „First Love

Yena Choi (sopran / soprano)

Hyewon Chung (klaver / piano)

Unsuk Chin (1961*): Etüüdid / Etudes: Nr. 5 „Tokaata“ / No. 5 „Toccata“; Nr. 6 „Terad“ / No. 6 „Grains

Ilana Lode (klaver / piano)

Pärt Uusberg (1986*): „Peegeldusi Sulupere sillalt“ / „Reflections on Bridge of Sulupere

Ensemble Auftakt: Miina Laanesaar (viiul / violin), Soo-Young Lee (klarnet / clarinet), Maila Laidna (klaver / piano)

Ester Mägi (1922–2021): „Igav liiv“ / „Dreary Sand“ (tekst / text: Debora Vaarandi)

Hanseo Jin (1980*): Uus Arirang (Korea rahvalaul) / New Arirang (Korean folk song)

Eesti Muusika- ja Teatriakadeemia koor / Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre Choir. Dirigent / conductor Hyonah Song